NATO logo

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)


NATO Established:4th April 1949 (Washington D.C. The United States).
NATO Members:30 Members.
NATO Headquarters:Brussels, Belgium.
Organization Type:Security Treaty.
NATO Secretary-General:Jens Stoltenberg (Norway).
Official Languages:English, French.
Purpose:Safety and security of member countries.

What is NATO?

NATO stands for North Atlantic Treaty Organization. It is also called North Atlantic Treaty. NATO is an intergovernmental political and military alliance of 28 European countries and 2 North American countries.

Formation of NATO:

The treaty was signed on 4th April 1949 in Washington D.C. The United States.

Members of NSG:

Currently, NATO comprises 30 member states, 28 European countries and 2 North American countries. The list of NATO members is given below.

flag-iconAlbania flag-iconBelgium
flag-iconBulgaria flag-iconCanada
flag-iconCroatia flag-iconCzech Republic
flag-iconDenmark flag-iconEstonia
flag-iconFrance flag-iconGermany
flag-iconGreece flag-iconHungary
flag-iconIceland flag-iconItaly
flag-iconLithuania flag-iconLuxembourg
flag-iconMontenegro flag-iconNetherlands
flag-iconNorth Macedonia flag-iconNorway
flag-iconPoland flag-iconPortugal
flag-iconRomania flag-iconSlovakia
flag-iconSlovenia flag-iconSpain
flag-iconTurkey flag-iconUnited Kingdom
flag-iconUnited States

Objectives of NSG:

The main objective of NATO is to safeguard the freedom and security of all its members by political and military means.

The greatest responsibility of the alliance is to protect and defend NATO's territory and populations.

NATO's Article 5 states that an attack on one member is an attack on all.

Official Languages of NATO:

The official languages of the NATO are English, French.

NSG Headquarters:

The headquarters of NATO is situated in Brussels, Belgium.

What if two NATO members go to war with each other?

In this case, article 8 of NATO come into force.

If any NATO member attacks another NATO member, it breaks article 8 of NATO and therefore will be expelled from NATO. Then the expelled country will be treated as a non-NATO country.

India and the NATO:

India is not a member of NATO because India is located in Asia, and NATO is the North Atlantic treaty organization. Also, India is not a signatory of any military treaty.