UNSC logo

UN Security Council


UNSC Established:24 October 1945.
UNSC Members:15 Members.
UNSC Headquarters:New York City (The United States).

What is UNSC?

United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is one of the six main organs of the United Nations. The main aim of the UNSC is to ensure international peace and security.

Establishment of the UNSC:

The UNSC was established on 24th October 1945.

UNSC Members:

United Nations Security Council has 15 members, out of which 5 are permanent members, and 10 are non-permanent members.

The 5 permanent members are called P5 nations, which have veto power in UNSC. These permanent members are The United States, The United Kingdom, France, Russia, and China.

The Non-permanent members are elected by the UN General Assembly for two-year terms. The term of the new members starts on 1st January of the year.

To get a non-permanent seat at UNSC, a candidate must receive two-thirds of all votes cast for that seat.

United Nations Official Languages:

The United Nations Security Council has six official languages, Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, and Spanish.

UNSC Objectives and Powers:

The main aim of the UNSC is to ensure international peace and security. The other objectives of the UNSC are as given below.

1. UNSC recommends the admission of new United Nations members to the General Assembly.

2. UNSC approves changes in the charter of the United Nations if required.

3. UNSC establishes peacekeeping operations. There are different countries facing terrorism and other kinds of difficulties to keep the peace in the country, and if UNSC realizes to send the peacekeeper to that country, they can approve it in UNSC.

4. UNSC can enact international sanctions. If any country takes any action which threatens international peace, then the UNSC can enact international sanctions on that country to pressurize to reverse the action taken before by that country.

5. UNSC authorize military action If required. The UNSC can take military actions for the peace and security of the world.

6. The UNSC is the only UN body with the authority to issue binding resolutions to the member states. However, permanent members can veto any resolution in UNSC.

UNSC Headquarters:

The headquarters of the United Nations is situated in New York City, The United States.

UNSC Presidency:

The presidency of the UNSC is held by each member for one month.

The presidency rotates according to the name of the member states in English alphabetical order.

The president of the UNSC sets the agenda and presides meetings on important world issues.

The president of the UNSC is authorized to issue presidential statements and notes that are used to make declarations of intent that the full security council can then pursue.

UNSC Meeting Location:

The UNSC meeting is held in UN Conference Building in New York City.

Other Main Organs of the United Nations:

1. United Nations General Assembly:

The general assembly is composed of all UN member states. The general assembly Adopts the budget, Elects the non-permanent members of the UNSC, and the fifteen judges of the International Court of Justice (ICJ). Each member country has one vote in the general assembly.

2. The Economic and Social Council:

The Economic and Social Council is responsible for promoting international economic and social co-operation and development.

3. The Trusteeship Council:

The Trusteeship Council was originally designed to manage colonial possessions. It has been inactive since 1994, when Palau, the last trust territory, attained independence.

4. The International Court of Justice:

The International Court of Justice decides disputes between countries that recognize its jurisdiction. Its fifteen judges are elected by the UN General Assembly for nine-year terms.

5. The United Nations Secretariat:

The United Nations Secretariat Supports the other UN bodies administratively. The United Nations foremost representative is called the UN's Secretary-General, who is elected by the General Assembly for a five-year term.

United Nations Specialized Agencies:

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO).

International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO).

International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD).

International Labour Organization (ILO).

International Maritime Organization (IMO).

International Monetary Fund (IMF).

International Telecommunication Union (ITU).

United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO).

United Nations World Tourism Organization (UNWTO).

Universal Postal Union (UPU).

World Bank Group (WBG).

World Health Organization (WHO).

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).

World Meteorological Organization (WMO).

UNSC Funding:

The United Nations Security Council is funded by the United Nations, as UNSC is the main organ of the United Nations.

India and The UN Security Council:

India is one of the founding members of the United Nations Security Council. India became a non-permanent member of the UNSC several times. Currently, India is a Non-permanent member of the UNSC starting from 1st January 2021 till the end of 2022. India is also a member of the G4 Nations and demanding a permanent seat at UNSC. To know more about G4 Nations- Click Here.