UN logo

United Nations


UN Established:24 October 1945.
UN Members:193 Members.
UN Headquarters:Manhattan, New York City.
UN Secretary-GeneralAntónio Guterres (Portugal)

What is United Nations?

The United Nations (UN) is an international intergovernmental organization founded in 1945 to maintain peace and security in the world. The United Nations helps to resolve disputes between the countries to maintain peace in the region. The United Nations is the world's largest International organization with 193 member countries. The United Nations represents about 99% of the nations in the world.

Establishment of the United Nations:

The United Nations was founded on 24 October 1945. The UN Charter was signed on 26 June 1945 after the world-war-II by the representatives of the 50 countries. Poland which was not present at that time signed the charter later and became one of the 51 founding members of the United Nations. The United Nations officially came into existence on 24 October 1945. The United Nations day is celebrated on 24 October each year.

United Nations Members:

The United Nations has 193 members. Only two countries The Holi See and the State of Palestine are the non-member observer states of the United Nations.

United Nations Official Languages:

The United Nations has six official languages Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, and Spanish.

United Nations Objectives:

The main aim of the United Nations is to maintain international peace and security. The United Nations also helps members to develop friendly relations among them.

United Nations Headquarters:

The headquarters of the United Nations is situated in Manhattan, New York City. The area of headquarters of the United Nations is considered as international territory, where local laws are not applicable. The regional offices of the United Nations are situated in Geneva (Switzerland), Nairobi (Kenya), and Vienna (Austria).

United Nations logo and Flag:

The United Nations logo was designed by a team of designers in 1945. The design team was led by Oliver Lincoln Lundquist, and the United nations logo was approved on December 7, 1946.

United Nations Logo:

UN logo

United Nations Flag:

UN logo

Main Organs of the United Nations:

1. United Nations General Assembly:

The general assembly is composed of all UN member states. The general assembly Adopts the budget, Elects the non-permanent members of the UNSC, and the fifteen judges of the International Court of Justice (ICJ). Each member country has one vote in the general assembly.

2. United Nations Security Council:

United Nations Security Council is responsible for the maintenance of international peace and security. It has fifteen members, five permanent members with veto power, and ten Non-permanent members without veto power.

3. The Economic and Social Council:

The Economic and Social Council is responsible for promoting international economic and social co-operation and development.

4. The Trusteeship Council:

The Trusteeship Council was originally designed to manage colonial possessions. It has been inactive since 1994, when Palau, the last trust territory, attained independence.

5. The International Court of Justice:

The International Court of Justice decides disputes between countries that recognize its jurisdiction. Its fifteen judges are elected by the UN General Assembly for nine-year terms.

6. The United Nations Secretariat:

The United Nations Secretariat Supports the other UN bodies administratively. The United Nations foremost representative is called the UN's Secretary-General, who is elected by the General Assembly for a five-year term.

United Nations Specialized Agencies:

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO).

International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO).

International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD).

International Labour Organization (ILO).

International Maritime Organization (IMO).

International Monetary Fund (IMF).

International Telecommunication Union (ITU).

United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO).

United Nations World Tourism Organization (UNWTO).

Universal Postal Union (UPU).

World Bank Group (WBG).

World Health Organization (WHO).

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).

World Meteorological Organization (WMO).

United Nations Funding:

The United Nations is funded by the member states according to the capacity of the country. The United States is the top fund providing country to the United Nations.

India and The United Nations:

India is one of the founding members of the United Nations. India also a member of the G77 group, which is a coalition of developing countries.