ICJ logo

International Court of Justice


ICJ Established:26 June 1945.
ICJ Members:193 Members.
ICJ Headquarters:The Hague, Netherlands.
Number of Judges:15 Judges.
ICJ Judge term length:9 Years.
ICJ President:Joan E. Donoghue (The United States).

What is ICJ?

The International Court of Justice is a United Nations specialized agency. The ICJ is also known as World Court. It is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations.

Establishment of the ICJ:

The ICJ or International Court of Justice was established on 26th June 1945.

ICJ Members:

All the 193 members of the United Nations are also members of the International Court of Justice.

ICJ Official Languages:

The International Court of Justice has two official languages, English and French.

ICJ Objectives:

The main aim of the ICJ is to settle disputes between states in accordance with international law. The ICJ also gives advisory opinions on international legal issues.

ICJ Headquarters:

The headquarters of the ICJ is situated in The Hague, Netherlands.

Important Points of ICJ:

The ICJ consists of a panel of 15 judges elected by the general assembly and security council of the United Nations.

The judges in ICJ are elected for nine-year terms.

No two judges can be nationals of the same country.

The ICJ received its first case on 22 May 1947.

The official languages of the ICJ are English and French.

Other Main Organs of the United Nations:

1. United Nations General Assembly:

The general assembly is composed of all UN member states. The general assembly Adopts the budget, Elects the non-permanent members of the UNSC, and the fifteen judges of the International Court of Justice (ICJ). Each member country has one vote in the general assembly.

2. The Economic and Social Council:

The Economic and Social Council is responsible for promoting international economic and social co-operation and development.

3. The Trusteeship Council:

The Trusteeship Council was originally designed to manage colonial possessions. It has been inactive since 1994, when Palau, the last trust territory, attained independence.

4. United Nations Security Council:

United Nations Security Council is responsible for the maintenance of international peace and security. It has fifteen members, five permanent members with veto power, and ten Non-permanent members without veto power.

5. The United Nations Secretariat:

The United Nations Secretariat Supports the other UN bodies administratively. The United Nations foremost representative is called the UN's Secretary-General, who is elected by the General Assembly for a five-year term.

United Nations Specialized Agencies:

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO).

International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO).

International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD).

International Labour Organization (ILO).

International Maritime Organization (IMO).

International Monetary Fund (IMF).

International Telecommunication Union (ITU).

United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO).

United Nations World Tourism Organization (UNWTO).

Universal Postal Union (UPU).

World Bank Group (WBG).

World Health Organization (WHO).

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).

World Meteorological Organization (WMO).

ICJ Funding:

The International Court of Justice is funded by the United Nations, as ICJ is the main organ of the United Nations.

India and The International Court of Justice:

India is one of the founding members of the International Court of Justice. Currently, Indian judge Dalveer Bhandari is serving as an ICJ judge.