UNGA logo

United Nations General Assembly


UNGA Established:1945.
UNGA Members:193 Members.
UNGA Headquarters:New York, United States.
UNGA President:Volkan Bozk─▒r (Turkey).
Parent Organization:The United Nations.

What is UNGA?

The UNGA is one of the six main organs of the United Nations established in 1945. In UNGA, all the members have equal voting power.

Establishment of UNGA:

The UNGA or United Nations General Assembly was established in 1945, just after the formation of the United Nations.

UNGA Members:

All the 193 members of the United Nations are also members of the United Nations General Assembly.

UNGA Functions and Powers:

The UNGA Consider and approve the United Nations budget.

The UNGA elects the non-permanent members of the Security Council and, on the recommendation of the Security Council, appoints the Secretary-General of the United Nations.

The UNGA considers and makes recommendations on the general principles of cooperation for maintaining international peace and security, including disarmament.

The UNGA makes recommendations for the peaceful settlement of any situation that might impair friendly relations among countries.

UNGA Headquarters:

The headquarters of the UNGA is situated in New York, United States.

Seating Plan of UNGA:

The member countries are seated in the General Assembly according to the English translation of the countries name.

Other Main Organs of the United Nations:

1. The International Court of Justice:

The International Court of Justice decides disputes between countries that recognize its jurisdiction. Its fifteen judges are elected by the UN General Assembly for nine-year terms.

2. The Economic and Social Council:

The Economic and Social Council is responsible for promoting international economic and social co-operation and development.

3. The Trusteeship Council:

The Trusteeship Council was originally designed to manage colonial possessions. It has been inactive since 1994, when Palau, the last trust territory, attained independence.

4. United Nations Security Council:

United Nations Security Council is responsible for the maintenance of international peace and security. It has fifteen members, five permanent members with veto power, and ten Non-permanent members without veto power.

5. The United Nations Secretariat:

The United Nations Secretariat Supports the other UN bodies administratively. The United Nations foremost representative is called the UN's Secretary-General, who is elected by the General Assembly for a five-year term.

United Nations Specialized Agencies:

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO).

International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO).

International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD).

International Labour Organization (ILO).

International Maritime Organization (IMO).

International Monetary Fund (IMF).

International Telecommunication Union (ITU).

United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO).

United Nations World Tourism Organization (UNWTO).

Universal Postal Union (UPU).

World Bank Group (WBG).

World Health Organization (WHO).

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).

World Meteorological Organization (WMO).

UNGA Funding:

The UNGA is funded by the member countries of the United Nations.

India and The UNGA:

India is one of the founding members of the UNGA. India is playing a crucial role in UNGA since UNGA was founded.