Wassenaar Arrangement


Formation:12th July 1996 (Wassenaar).
Members:42 Members.
Headquarters:Vienna, Austria.
Organization Type:Export control regime
Purpose:To control dual-use goods and technologies to prevent destabilizing accumulations.
Official Language:English.

What is Wassenaar Arrangement?

The Wassenaar Arrangement is a voluntary export control regime whose members exchange information on transfers of conventional weapons and dual-use goods and technologies to prevent destabilizing accumulations. It is the successor to the cold war-era coordinating committee for multilateral export controls.

Formation of Wassenaar Arrangement:

The Wassenaar Arrangement was formally established on 12th July 1996 in Wassenaar, the Netherlands.


Currently, the Wassenaar Arrangement has 42 member states. India is the latest member who joined this group on 7th December 2017.

flag-iconArgentina flag-iconAustralia
flag-iconAustria flag-iconBelgium
flag-iconBulgaria flag-iconCanada
flag-iconCroatia flag-iconCzech Republic
flag-iconDenmark flag-iconEstonia
flag-iconFinland flag-iconFrance
flag-iconGermany flag-iconGreece
flag-iconHungary flag-iconIndia
flag-iconIreland flag-iconItaly
flag-iconJapan flag-iconLatvia
flag-iconLuxembourg flag-iconMalta
flag-iconMexico flag-iconNetherlands
flag-iconNew Zealand flag-iconNorway
flag-iconPoland flag-iconPortugal
flag-iconRomania flag-iconRussia
flag-iconSlovakia flag-iconSlovenia
flag-iconSouth Africa flag-iconSouth Korea
flag-iconSpain flag-iconSweden
flag-iconUkraine flag-iconUnited Kingdom
flag-iconUnited States


The Main objective of the Wassenaar Arrangement is to promote greater responsibility among its members in the export of weapons, dual-use goods, and technologies.


A Secretariat for administering the agreement is located in Vienna, Austria.

India and Wassenaar Arrangement:

India became the 42nd member of the Wassenaar Arrangement on December 7, 2017.