International Organizations GK MCQs


Questions and Answers Type:MCQs (Multiple Choice Questions).
Main Topic:General Knowledge.
Sub-topic:International Organizations.
Number of Questions:5 MCQs.

In many competitive examinations in India, the International Organizations MCQs are asked, and here we are providing International Organizations questions with answers and an explanation. It is not just for students preparing for any exams, you can learn International Organizations for your general knowledge. This International Organizations Quiz section will definitely increase your GK about International Organizations and help you to prepare for your upcoming examinations.

Directions: In the following International Organizations MCQs, four answers are given, and only one answer is correct. Please read the questions carefully and choose the correct answers. To check the answer, click on the answer button and know the correct answer with an explanation. We hope you will find this section of the International Organizations Quiz helpful to increase your knowledge.

1. Which of the following countries is not a member of the G20?

  1. Singapore
  2. South Africa
  3. Brazil
  4. Indonesia

Answer: (a) Singapore.

Solution: The members of the G20 are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States, and the European Union.

2. India is not a member of-

  1. Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR).
  2. International Solar Alliance.
  3. Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO).
  4. Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG).

Answer: (d) Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG).

Solution: NSG consists of 48 members, including the five official nuclear power and P5 states US, UK, France, China, and Russia. It is not a formal organization, and its guidelines are not binding. Decisions, including on membership, are made by consensus. India is not a member of NSG. Opposition to India's membership comes from countries like China as India has not signed Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty.

3. Where is the headquarters of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations or ASEAN?

  1. Bankok, Thailand.
  2. Jakarta, Indonesia.
  3. Singapore.
  4. Hanoi, Vietnam.

Answer: (b) Jakarta, Indonesia.

Solution: The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand. Currently, there are 10 permanent members of this association. Its headquarter is in Jakarta (Indonesia). ASEAN brings together ten Southeast Asian states – Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam into one organisation.

4. With which of the following country did India establish the International Solar Alliance?

  1. South Africa.
  2. Brazil.
  3. Germany.
  4. France.

Answer: (d) France.

Solution: The Prime minister of India Mr Narendra Modi announced the launch of the International Solar Alliance (ISA) with Mr Francois Hollande, former Hon’ble President of France on 30th November 2015, at the 21st session of United Nations Climate Change Conference of the Parties (COP-21) in Paris, France. The purpose of the organization is to Bring together a group of nations to endorse clean energy, sustainable environment, public transport and climate.

5. Which of the following is the predecessor organization of WTO?

  1. UN Development Programme.
  2. World Health Organisation.
  3. General Arrangement on Trade and Tariff.
  4. General Agreement on Trade and Tariff.

Answer: (d) General Agreement on Trade and Tariff.

Solution: The World Trade Organization (WTO) is an intergovernmental organization that regulates and facilitates international trade. It officially commenced operations on 1 January 1995, pursuant to the 1994 Marrakesh Agreement, thus replacing the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) that had been established in 1948.