Basic General Knowledge Questions and Answers


Questions and Answers Type:MCQ (Multiple Choice Questions).
Main Topic:General Knowledge.
General Knowledge Sub-topic:Basic General Knowledge Questions.
Number of Questions:5 Questions with Answers.
Directions: In the following Basic General Knowledge Questions, four answers are given, and only one answer is correct. Read the questions and choose the correct answer. If you want to check the answer, click on the answer button and know the correct answer with an explanation.

1. How many planets are there in our solar system?

  1. 9 Planets
  2. 8 Planets
  3. 7 Planets
  4. 6 Planets

Answer: (b) 8 Planets

Solution: There are eight planets in our solar system. Before 2006, there were nine planets in our solar system but, in 2006 International Astronomical Union (IAU) removed "Pluto" from the planets list because it did not meet the criteria to be a planet.

2. Who invented the Telephone and when?

  1. Alexander Graham Bell, 1876
  2. Alexander Melville Bell, 1885
  3. Elsie Bell, 1905
  4. Marian Hubbard Bell, 1912

Answer: (a) Alexander Graham Bell, 1876

Solution: Alexander Graham Bell is often credited with being the inventor of the telephone. He invented the telephone in 1876.

3. When did New Delhi become the capital of India?

  1. 1911
  2. 1920
  3. 1929
  4. 1931

Answer: (d) 1931

Solution: New Delhi formally became the capital of India on 13th February 1931. Before New Delhi, the Indian capital was Kolkata (Calcutta).

4. Who ordered to build the Taj Mahal and when?

  1. Babur, 1525
  2. Aurangzeb, 1682
  3. Shah Jahan, 1631
  4. Bahadur Shah I, 1691

Answer: (c) Shah Jahan, 1631

Solution: The Taj Mahal was built in Agra between 1631 and 1648 by order of the Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan. Shah Jahan built the Taj Mahal for his beloved wife Mumtaz Mahal. The Taj Mahal is situated in the Indian city of Agra. The Taj Mahal is one of the seven wonders in the modern world.

5. How many states and Union Territories are there in India in 2021?

  1. 29 states and 7 Union Territories
  2. 28 states and 8 Union Territories
  3. 28 states and 9 Union Territories
  4. 29 states and 8 Union Territories

Answer: (b) 28 states and 8 Union Territories

Solution: Currently, India has 28 states and 8 Union Territories. On 5th August 2019, after removing article 370, the GOI withdrew the status of Jammu & Kashmir state and created two Union Territories, Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh. On 26 January 2020, the two Union Territories Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu were merged, and it became one Union Territory.