Books and Authors GK Questions and Answers


Questions and Answers Type:MCQ (Multiple Choice Questions).
Main Topic:General Knowledge.
General Knowledge Sub-topic:Books and Authors GK
Number of Questions:5 Questions with Answers.
Directions: In the following Books and Authors GK Questions, four answers are given, and only one answer is correct. Read the questions and choose the correct answer. If you want to check the answer, click on the answer button and know the correct answer with an explanation.

1. Which of the following books is not written by Munshi Premchand?

  1. Nirmala
  2. Godan
  3. Gaban
  4. Gitanjali

Answer: (d) Gitanjali

Solution: Gitanjali is a collection of poems written by the poet Rabindranath Tagore. All other books given in the options Nirmala, Godan, Gaban are written by Munshi Premchand.

2. Who is the writer of the famous book "Kabuliwala"?

  1. Munshi Premchand
  2. Rabindranath Tagore
  3. Mahatma Gandhi
  4. Sarat Chandra Chattopadhyay

Answer: (b) Rabindranath Tagore

Solution: The book Kabuliwala was written by Rabindranath Tagore in 1892. Kabuliwala is a short story about a fruitseller, a Pathan from Kabul, Afghanistan, who visits Calcutta (now Kolkata) India each year to sell dry fruits.

3. Who is the author of Meghdoot?

  1. Kalidas
  2. Surdas
  3. Kabirdas
  4. Tulsidas

Answer: (a) Kalidas

Solution: The Poem Meghdoot was written by Kalidas, one of the greatest Sanskrit poets. Meghdoot is a story of Yaksha, who had been banished by his master to a remote region for a year, asked the clouds to take a message of love to his wife.

4. Which book was an autobiography written by Jawaharlal Nehru in prison?

  1. Letters for a Nation
  2. The Discovery of India
  3. Toward Freedom
  4. The unity of India

Answer: (c) Toward Freedom

Solution: The book Toward Freedom, also known as An Autobiography, is an autobiographical book written by Jawaharlal Nehru while he was in prison between June 1934 to February 1935.

5. The national song of India, "Vande Mataram", is written by

  1. Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay
  2. Sarat Chandra Chattopadhyay
  3. Rabindranath Tagore
  4. Swami Vivekananda

Answer: (a) Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay

Solution: The national song of India, "Vande Mataram", is written by Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay in the 1870s. He is also known as Bankim Chandra Chatterjee. Later he included the poem Vande Mataram in his Bengali novel "Anandamath" in 1882.