Minsk Agreement


Minsk Agreement Signed on:5th September 2014.
Signatories:4 Signatories.
Minsk Agreement Effective from:5th September 2014.
Agreement Type:Bilateral Agreement.
Minsk Agreement Area:Eurasia.

What is Minsk Agreement?

The Minsk Agreement, also known as Minsk Protocol is an agreement signed to resolve the confrontation between Russia, Ukraine and Rebel groups in the Donbas region of Ukraine in 2014. The Minsk-I deal failed to resolve the confrontation between the parties; hence, another agreement was signed in 2015 named Minsk-II.

The Minsk-II also failed to stop the confrontation between the parties, but the Normandy Format parties agreed that it remains the basis for any future resolution to the conflict.

Minsk Agreement Signed:

The Minsk-I was signed on 5th September 2014, and Minsk-II was signed on 12th February 2015.

Signatories of Minsk Protocol:

The Minsk-I and Minsk-II both agreements were signed by four parties-

Swiss diplomat and OSCE representative Heidi Tagliavini.

Former president of Ukraine and Ukrainian representative Leonid Kuchma.

Russian Ambassador to Ukraine and Russian representative Mikhail Zurabov.

Rebel heads Alexander Zakharchenko and Igor Plotnitsky.


Both the agreements Minsk-I and Minsk-II were mediated by France, and Germany using the Normandy Format talks. OSCE also played a crucial role in mediation.


The main objective of the Minsk Agreement was to resolve the conflict peacefully between Ukraine, Rebel groups and Russia in the Donbas to regain Ukraine.

Minsk-II Protocol’s 13 points:

1. To ensure an immediate bilateral ceasefire.

2. Withdrawal of heavy weapons by both sides.

3. The situation is monitored by OSCE.

4. To ensure early local elections in accordance with the Ukrainian law "On temporary Order of Local Self-Governance in Particular Districts of Donetsk and Luhansk Oblasts".

5. Provide pardon and amnesty by enacting a law that forbids persecution and punishment of persons in relation to events.

6. Provide release and exchange of all hostages and illegally held persons.

7. Provide safe access, delivery, storage and distribution of humanitarian aid to the needy.

8. A full restoration of social and economic connections, including social transfers, such as payments of pensions.

9. Restore control of the state border to the Ukrainian government in the whole conflict zone.

10. Pull out of all foreign armed formations, military equipment, and mercenaries from the territory of Ukraine under OSCE supervision.

11. Constitutional reform in Ukraine, the key element of which is decentralisation.

12. Elections in Donetsk and Luhansk in accordance with relevant OSCE standards and monitored by OSCE/ODIHR.

13. Intensify the work of the Trilateral Contact Group on the implementation of relevant aspects of the Minsk agreements.