CTBT (Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty)


CTBT Signed:10 September 1996.
CTBT Signatories:185 Signatories.
CTBT Effective from:Not came into force.
Non-Parties:India, North Korea, and Pakistan.
CTBT Type:Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty.
CTBT Area:International treaty.

What is CTBT?

The acronym CTBT stands for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty. The CTBT is an international treaty to ban all types of nuclear tests on earth, either for civilian or military purposes.

The CTBT restrict signatory states for any kind of nuclear explosion at any place under its jurisdiction.

CTBT Signed:

The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty was adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on 10th September 1996 and opened for signature on 24th September 1996. But till now, this treaty has not entered into force because few important countries have not signed the CTBT.


The CTBT has been signed by 185 countries till now, including five permanent members of the UNSC.

CTBT Parties:

The treaty opened for signature in 1996, and till now, a total of 185 countries signed this treaty.

A total of 170 countries signed the CTBT and ratified it.

15 countries signed the CTBT but have not ratified it till now, including Egypt, Iran, Israel, and the United States of America.

Three countries India, North Korea, and Pakistan have not signed CTBT till now.


The main objective of CTBT is to ban all types of nuclear tests anywhere in the world.

India and CTBT:

India has not signed the CTBT till now and is not a party of CTBT. India has not signed the treaty, because CTBT places limitations on states that do not have nuclear weapons while making no efforts to curb weapons development by declared nuclear weapons states.

International Treaties

CTBT (Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty)