ECOSOC (United Nations Economic and Social Council)


ECOSOC Established:26th June 1945.
ECOSOC Headquarters:New York City, United States.
ECOSOC Members:54 Members.
ECOSOC Objective:To promote sustainable development.
Organization Type:Economic and Social Council.

What is ECOSOC?

ECOSOC stands for United Nations Economic and Social Council. The ECOSOC is one of the six main organs of the United Nations. The Economic and Social Council works to advance the three dimensions of sustainable development economic, social and environmental.

Establishment of ECOSOC:

The UN Charter established ECOSOC on 26th June 1945 as one of the six main organs of the United Nations.

Headquarters of ECOSOC:

The headquarters of the ECOSOC is situated in New York City, United States and a suboffice at the UN office in Geneva, Switzerland.

Objectives of ECOSOC:

The main objectives of the ECOSOC are to promote sustainable development, Guide operational activities for development, Financing for sustainable development, Provide coordination and oversight, Build partnerships, Engage youth, Raising awareness on emerging issues, Advising on Haiti's long-term development, Promoting peaceful and inclusive societies, Working with civil society.

It is the central platform for discussing international economic and social issues and formulating policy recommendations for member states and the United Nations System. It is also responsible for the follow-up to major UN conferences and summits.

ECOSOC Members:

The ECOSOC consists of 54 Members, who are elected yearly by the General Assembly for overlapping three-year terms. Seats are allocated according to equitable geographic rotation among the United Nations regional groups, with 14 being allocated to the African Group, 11 to the Asia-Pacific Group, 6 to the Eastern European Group, 10 to the Latin American and Caribbean Group and 13 to the Western European and Other states Group.

ECOSOC offers a unique global meeting point for productive dialogues among policymakers, parliamentarians, academics, foundations, businesses, youth and more than 3,200 registered non-governmental organizations.


The president of the ECOSOC is elected for a one-year term and the presidency rotates among the United Nations Regional Groups to ensure equal representation.

Subsidiary Bodies:

The subsidiary bodies of ECOSOC are composed of regional commissions, functional commissions, expert bodies, standing committees and ad hoc bodies. The ECOSOC is entrusted to guide and coordinate the work of its subsidiary bodies, and it can influence a wide remit of the work of the UN system on development.

In addition over 1,600 nongovernmental organizations have consultative status with the Council to participate in the work of the United Nations. ECOSOC holds one four-week session each year in July, and since 1998 has also held an annual meeting in April with finance ministers heading key committees of the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

Regional Commissions:

1. Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)

2. Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE)

3. Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)

4. Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)

5. Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA)

Functional Commissions:

1. Statistical Commission

2. Commission on Population and Development (CPD)

3. Commission for Social Development (CSocD)

4. Commission on the Status of Women (CSW)

5. Commission on Narcotic Drugs (CND)

2. Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice (CCPCJ)

3. Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD)

4. United Nations Forum on Forests (UNFF)

Expert bodies composed of governmental experts:

1. Committee of Experts on the Transport of Dangerous Goods and on the Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals.

2. Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting (ISAR).

3. United Nations Group of Experts on Geographical Names (UNGEGN).

4. Committee of Experts on Global Geospatial Information Management (UN-GGIM).

Expert bodies composed of members serving in their personal capacity:

1. Committee for Development Policy (CDP).

2. Committee of Experts on Public Administration (CEPA).

3. Committee of Experts on International Cooperation in Tax Matters.

4. Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR).

5. Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues (PFII).

ECOSOC Standing Committees:

1. Committee on Non-Governmental Organizations.

2. Committee for Programme and Coordination (CPC).

Ad Hoc bodies:

1. Ad Hoc Advisory Group on Haiti.

Other related bodies:

1. International Narcotics Control Board (INCB).

2. Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS.

3. United Nations System Standing Committee on Nutrition (UNSCN), now UN Nutrition.

4. Committee for the United Nations Population Award.

International Organizations

ECOSOC (United Nations Economic and Social Council)